(Casey Would Waltz with a Strawberry Blonde) And the Band Played On

Some of the earliest lyrics I remember my mother singing to me were, “Casey would waltz with a strawberry blonde and the band played on,” from a Victorian ditty in 3/4 time.  For me, it conjured up an image of a chubby balding man with a handlebar moustache wearing a 3-piece tweed suit and twirling a lovely young thing on the dance floor, with her long butterscotch-colored locks floating.  I wonder if Pearl’s mother sang it to her as a child.

Leave a Reply

